Ancestral welcoming

Just a little neat piece of poetry that I found and I hope anyone who see/reads this will go a little further to read Fiesta Estrella’s poem…

Fiesta Estrellas

WE’ve got ancestral
gifts and diseases.

my virtue is collecting them
all, from where I am. Whatever is in reach.

My virtue is whatever name you
want to call me.

My virtue is showing up.

We’ve got aches and pains
that begin at the roots,
and touch every branch.

We’ve got friends with similar
diagnoses. Each leaf is a name
for what is really just pain.

What is pain but energy,
and I’m sorry but I only
took one creative writing class.
I got an A.

Grades don’t matter, but I got an F in Satire
AND I didn’t do that on purpose just to prove a point.

Do you know what does matter?
Your answer is flesh, made real.

We’ve got crayons in heaven with our
names on them. Do you know how
beautiful you are?

We’ve got superhero bandaids for
every single one of us.
For showing up.

View original post 123 more words

One thought on “Ancestral welcoming

Leave a Reply

